Skip to content

The Checklist


We always talk about striving to be more productive i.e. to produce more out put with the same amount of input (or even lower input).

I have also learned that being busy does not necessarily mean that you are actually being productive.

One simple question that you need to always ask yourself: does this activity get me closer to my goal(s)?

Today, I just started one new habit and hopefully I can follow through it consistently until the rest this year (..and even beyond).

A checklist which should be ‘The Checklist’ that I need to do on a daily basis.

This checklist contains all activities which are related to my area of professional responsibilities as well as personal development/interest/responsibilities that I MUST DO ON A DAILY BASIS.

I have really put all my thoughts to this list and it might grow if needed.

The rationale was that we all tend to “play it by the ear” when it gets to daily activities. ‘Firefighting’ can be so urgent and so ‘engrossing’ that we overlook the ‘daily steps’ that we need to ‘walk’ to reach that 1000 miles destination. By the time you know it, it’s already ‘End of Business Day’ and we have not actually done anything to get ‘closer’ to our goal(s).

Having written this, I just ticked one of the items in my checklist for today. It FEELS GREAT!

2 Comments Post a comment
  1. Good luck, Adhy. Needs a lot of discipline to update and create a checklist daily – but it really helps. I have always followed this myself and have asked this of my teams too. A simple but powerful productivity tool.

    Regards,
    Suchitra

    June 28, 2012
    • Thank you Suchitra! It actually does help.. I just need to consistently follow the checklist until it becomes a habit.

      July 2, 2012

Leave a Reply

